What's great in wine, beer, fine dining,
places to stay, & places to visit
in California State

Sunday, 10 November 2013 13:56

November 8, 2013 Wine Pick of the Week

 Bonterra  Zinfandel Bottle Picmonkey

 

2011 Zinfandel

 

Producer: Bonterra Vineyards

Appellation: Mendocino County

Alcohol: 13.5%

Suggested Retail: $15.99

 

“Today's Pick of the Week is produced from certified organically-grown grapes. Bonterra has been a pioneer in producing wines from organically-grown fruit and believes it produces better quality wine.

“We've tasted some excellent wines made from organic grapes. We've also tasted some lousy ones. The 2011 Bonterra Zinfandel belongs in the former category. However, we chose it for its taste rather than its green pedigree. There's a whiff of raspberry and finely ground pepper in the nose, which is followed by flavors evoking blueberries and Santa Rosa plums. Again in the taste, there's the presence of ground pepper (the seeming presence, we should explain, not the actual presence of added pepper). This Zin is rich, but not overpowering and has a moderately long finish. Rather restrained when compared to the bloated, more-is-better, style of Zinfandel, the Bonterra Zin is subtle and sophisticated .”

Food Affinity: “Zinfandel has been grown for a very long time by Californians of Italian ancestry. This Zin could be a good part of a Saturday afternoon if served with aperitivi (snacks) of prosciutto, Calabrese salami, crostini and cheeses. To accompany a main course, we'd suggest serving it with lamb chops which have been rubbed with garlic, rosemary and a little olive oil and grilled to medium-rare.”

Friday, 12 July 2013 18:40

July 12, 2013 Wine Pick of the Week

Bonterra Viognier Picmonkey 2 

 2012 Viognier

 

Bonterra

Appellation: Mendocino County

 Alcohol: 13.9%

 Suggested Retail: $16

 

“Aromas of honeysuckle, lemon blossom and apricot in this wine made of Mendocino County organic grapes. It's quite fragrant, but flavors of nectarines and white peaches take over and are more apparent than apricot. There's a little spice in there, too. Some oak aging—six months says the winery—gives a vanilla quality that enhances, but doesn't overpower, its fresh and sprightly nature. Simultaneously crisp and creamy, it reminded one reviewer of of Dreamsicles enjoyed in the summers of his youth. Long finish.”

Food Affinity: “Chicken curry. Portuguese dishes combining both shellfish and pork. Similar fare from Brazil that includes coconut milk.”

South Coast Jim Carter PicmonkeyJim Carter. proprietor of South Coast Winery (left), accepts his Winery of the Year Award from Wesley Chesbro, Chairmman of the Assembly Select Committee on Wine, and Noreen Evans, Chair of the Senate Select Committee on California's Wine Industry.

Sacramento, CA June 25, 2013. Chief Judges Rick Kushman and Mike Dunne joined representatives of state government this morning in announcing winners of California's State Fair wine competition. Originally scheduled to take place on the west steps of the Capitol Building, ceremonies were moved to a conference room indoors because of the most unseasonal summer rains.

South Coast Winery from Temecula was named Golden State Winery of the Year in recognition of winning the greatest number of medals by a single winery. Best of Show among all red wines entered was the 2010 Cabernet Franc from Sonoma County's Imagery Estate Winery. Best of Show for whites was a sparkling wine, the non-vintage Blanc de Noirs, Méthode Champenoise of Korbel, also located in Sonoma. Barefoot Cellars non-vintage Moscato was picked as Best Value, while the Cluster Select Late Harvest 2012 Gewürztraminer of Mendocino County winery Navarro Vineyards was deemed the Best of Show from the dessert category.

Visitors to the State Fair (July 12 to July 28) can enjoy many of the winning wines, including the Best of California selections, in the Save Mart Supermarkets Wine Garden.These wines can also be experienced at California’s Grape & Gourmet, a wine and food event, at Cal Expo on Thursday, August 22. Tickets are on sale now at bigfun.org.

Other wines selected from among the 2600 entries as Best of California 2013 in their categories include:

Cabernet Sauvignon, Shed Horn Cellars, Lake County, 2010, 98 points, $29

Chardonnay, Rutherford Ranch, Napa Valley, 2011, 98 points, $16

Pinot Noir, Rodney Strong Vineyards, Estate Vineyards, Russian River Valley, Sonoma County, 2011, 98 points, $25

Zinfandel, Macchia Winery, Adventurous, Linsteadt Vineyards, Amador County, Lodi, 2011, 94 points, $26

Barbera, Cardella Winery, Fattoria Cardella – L‘aquedotto Vineyard, Mendota, 2010, 94 points, $17

Sauvignon Blanc, Schug Winery, Sonoma Coast, Sonoma County, 2012, 98 points, $20

Pinot Grigio, CRU Wine Company, Arroyo Seco, Madera, 2012, 98 points, $18

Malbec, Fenestra Winery, Ghielmetti Vineyard, Livermore, 2009, 94 points, $28

Merlot, Oak Grove Winery, Reserve, California appellation, Alamo, 2011, 98 points, $7.99

Petite Sirah, Chacewater Wine, Red Hills, Lake County, 2010, 94 points, $21

Tempranillo, Red Soles Winery, Paso Robles, 2011, 98 points, $32

Syrah, Crystal Basin Cellars, Reserve, El Dorado County, 2010, 98 points, $24

Cabernet Franc, Imagery Estate, Sonoma County, 2010, 98 points, $39

Bordeaux Red Blend, Halter Ranch, Ancestor, Estate Reserve, Paso Robles, 2010, 95 points, $50

Sangiovese (tie), Boeger Winery, El Dorado County, 2009, 94 points, $15

Sangiovese (tie), Windwalker, Estate Bottled, El Dorado County, 2010, 94 points, $22Imagery Estate Winery Mike BenzigerJoe Benziger accepts Best of Show-Red for his Imagery Estate Cabernet Franc

Gewürztraminer, South Coast Winery, Carter Estate Vineyards, Temecula Valley, 2012, 98 points, $14

Riesling, Trinchero Family Estates, Wine Cube, California Appellation, Napa Valley, 2012, 98 points, $16.99

Sparkling Wine, Korbel, Blanc de Noirs, Methode Champenoise, Sonoma County, non-vintage, 98 points, $11

Rose, Chacewater Wine, Sierra Foothills, Lake County, 2012, 94 points, $14.99

Fortified Wine, Pedroncelli Winery, Vintage Port, Sonoma County,   2008, 95 points, $19

Muscat, Barefoot Wine Cellars, Moscato, California Appellation, Modesto, non-vintage, 98 points, $6.99

Other White Varietal, Dancing Coyote Gruner Veltliner (Estate Grown), Clarksburg, 2012, 96 points, $11.99

Other Red Varietal, Michael David Tannat (Inkblot), Lodi, 2010, 94 points, $35

Red Varietal Blend, Imagery Estate, Pallas, Sonoma Valley, Sonoma County, 98 points, $65

Red Generic Blend, Coppola Rosso & Bianco, Rosso, California   Appellation, Sonoma County, 2011, 94 points, $11

Region: North Coast     City: Laytonville     Contact: www.katewolfmusicfestival.com

Region: North Coast     City: Anderson Valley area      Contact: http://www.avwines.com/

Sunday, 06 January 2013 02:43

March 18-19, 2017 Ft. Bragg Whale Festival

Region: North Coast     City: Ft. Bragg     Contact: www.mendowhale.com

Region: North Coast     City: Little River     Contact: www.mendowhale.com

Sunday, 06 January 2013 02:10

March 4-5, 2017 Mendocino Whale Festival

Region: North Coast     City: Mendocino     Contact: www.mendowhale.com

 

Region: North Coast     City: Anderson Valley area     Contact: www.avwines.com

Saturday, 10 November 2012 14:04

Lodging Mendocino County

North Coast Of County

 

Abigail’s Bed & Breakfastwww.abigailsmendocino.com

Agate Cove Inn http://www.agatecove.com

Albion River Inn http://www.albionriverinn.com

Alegria Oceanfront Inn & Cottageswww.oceanfrontmagic.com

Anchor Lodgewww.anchor-lodge.com

Annies Jughandle Innhttp://www.ajinn.com

Antioch Ranchwww.antiochranch.com

Atrium Bed and Breakfastwww.atriumbnb.com

Auberge Mendocinowww.aubergemendocino.com

Avalon Househttp://www.avalonhouse.com

Beachcomber Motelwww.thebeachcombermotel.com

Beach House Innwww.beachinn.com

Beggs-Bishop Cottage http://www.beggs-bishopcottage.com

Bettilou’s Innwww.bettilouinn.com

Bever-Roberts Tower http://www.mendocinotower.com

Blackberry Innwww.blackberryinn.biz

Blair House Bed and Breakfast Inn http://www.blairhouse.com

Blanchard House Bed & Breakfastwww.blanchardhouse.com

Blue Heron Inn and Moose Café http://www.theblueheron.com

Brewery Gulch Inn http://brewerygulchinn.com

Caspar Inn www.casparinn.com

Cleone Gardens Innwww.cleonegardensinn.com

Colonial Innhttp://www.colonialinnfortbragg.com

Country Inn http://www.beourguests.com

Cypress Cove http://www.cypresscove.com

DeHaven Valley Farm Bed and Breakfast http://www.dehaven-valley-farm.com

Delamere Cottagewww.delamerecottages.com

Dennen’s Victorian Farmhousewww.victorianfarmhouse.com

Elk Cove Inn http://www.elkcoveinn.com

Elk Guest House http://www.elkguesthouse.com

Emerald Dolphin Innwww.emeralddolphin.com

Fensalden Innwww.fensalden.com

Fern Meadows Cottage http://www.fernmeadows.com

Glass Beach Bed and Breakfast Inn http://www.glassbeachinn.com

Glendeven Inn http://www.glendeven.com

Greenwood Pier Innwww.greenwoodpierinn.com

Grey Whale Innwww.greywhaleinn.com

Griffin House http://www.griffinn.com

Harbor Lite Lodgewww.harborlitelodge.com

Harborhouse Innhttp://www.harborhouseinne.com

Headlands Inn http://www.headlandsinn.com

Heritage House Inn http://www.HeritageHouseInn.com

Hill House Innwww.hillhouseinn.com

Holiday Inn Express – Fort Braggwww.hiexpress.com/fortbraggca

Howard Creek Ranch Inn http://www.howardcreekranch.com

Inn at Schoolhouse Creekwww.innatschoolhousecreek.com

John Daugherty Housewww.jdhouse.com

Joshua Grindle Innhttp://www.joshgrin.com

Kathy’s Mendocino Cottageswww.kathysmendocinocottages.com

Larkin Cottagewww.larkincottage.com

Lighthouse Inn at Point Cabrillowww.mendocinolighthouse.pointcabrillo.org

Little River Innwww.littleriverinn.com

Lodge at Noyo Riverwww.noyolodge.com

Lodging and Llamaswww.lodgingandllamas.com

MacCallum House http://www.maccallumhouse.com

Mendocino Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast http://www.mendocinofarmhouse.com

Mendocino Hotel http://www.mendocinohotel.com

Mendocino Seaside Cottagewww.romancebythesea.com

Mendocino Village Cottages http://www.mendocinocottages.com

Mendocino Village Innhttp://www.mendocinoinn.com

Nicholson House Inn http://www.nicholsonhouse.com

North Coast Country Inn http://www.northcoastcountryinn.com

Ocean Breeze Lodge http://www.oceanbreezelodge.com

Ocean View Lodgewww.oceanviewlodging.com

Old Coast Hotelwww.oldcoasthotel.com

Old Mill Farmwww.oldmillfarm.org

Pacific Mist Bungalows http://www.pacificmistbungalows.com

Packard House http://www.packardhouse.com

Pine Beach Inn http://www.pinebeachinn.com

Quality Inn and Suites Tradewindswww.fortbraggqualityinn.com

Reed Manor http://www.reedmanor.com

Rendezvous Inn & Restaurant http://www.rendezvousinn.com

Sallie & Eilen’s Placewww.seplace.com

Sandpiper House Innwww.sandpiperhouse.com

Sea Rock Inn http://www.searock.com

Seabird Lodgewww.seabirdlodge.com

Seacliff on the Bluffwww.seacliffmotel.com

Seafoam Lodgewww.seafoamlodge.com

Seagull Innwww.seagullbb.com

Shambala Ranchwww.shambhalaranch.com

Shoreline Cottages and Motelwww.shoreline-cottage.com

Stanford Inn by the Sea http://www.stanfordinn.com

Stevenswood Lodge http://www.stevenswood.com

Super 8 Motel Ft. Braggwww.super8.com

Surf & Sand Lodgewww.surfsandlodge.com

Surf Motel http://www.surfmotelfortbragg.com

Sweetwater Spa & Inn http://www.sweetwaterspa.com

The Allen House http://www.theallenhousemendocino.com

The Beach House http://www.beachinn.com

The Greenwood Pier Inn http://www.greenwoodpierinn.com

Todd FarmHouse http://www.toddfarmhouse.com

Vista Manor Lodgewww.bestwestern.com/prop_05201

Weller House Inn http://www.wellerhouse.com

Whitegate Inn http://www.whitegateinn.com

Windrift Cottage and Pine Beach House http://www.windriftcottage.com

 

 

South Coast of County

 

B Bryan Preservewww.bbryanpreserve.com

Brandybuck Ranchwww.brandybuckranch.com

Breakers Inn http://www.breakersinn.com

Coast Guard House Historic Inn www.coastguardhouse.com

Mar Vista Cottages http://www.marvistamendocino.com

North Coast Country Innwww.northcoastcountryinn.com

Point Arena Light Housewww.pointarenalighthouse.com

Point Arena Light Housewww.pointarenalighthouse.com

Seacliff on the Bluffwww.seacliffmotel.com

St. Orreswww.saintorres.com

Whale Watch Inn http://www.whalewatchinn.com

Wharf Master's Inn http://www.wharfmasters.com

 

 

Inland North County

 

Baechtel Creek Inn & Spawww.baechtelcreekinn.com

Beside Still Waters Farm Bed & Breakfastwww.besidestillwatersfarm.com

Brooktrails Lodge & Resortwww.brooktrailslodge.com

Stonegate Villaswww.stonegate-villas.com

Super 8www.super8.com

 

 

Russian River Valley of Mendocino County

 

Fairfield Inn & Suites Ukiahwww.marriott.com/stsuk

Holiday Inn Express http://www.holidayinnukiah.com

Holiday Lodgewww.holidaylodgewillits.com

Hopland Inn http://www.hoplandinn.com

Lawson’s Stationwww.lawsonsstation.com

Long Valley Ranchwww.sheepdung.com/lvr.html

Pepperwood Motelwww.pacific.net/~pepperwood

Robinson Creek Inn & Flower Farmwww.robinsoncreek.com

Sanford House Bed and Breakfast http://www.sanfordhouse.com

Sunrise Inn http://www.pacificsites.com/~sunrise

Vichy Springswww.vichysprings.com

 

 

Anderson Valley

 

Anderson Creek Inn http://www.andersoncreekinn.com

Anderson Valley Innwww.avinn.com

Boonville Hotelwww.boonvillehotel.com

Cottages at Ravenridgewww.ravenridgecottages.com

Highland Ranch http://www.highlandranch.com

Holly Hill Farm Bed & Breakfastwww.hollyhillfarminn.com

Linda Vista B & Bwww.lindavista.com

Philo Pottery Innhttp://www.philopotteryinn.com

The Other Placewww.sheepdung.com/top.html

Page 3 of 4

Copyright © 2005 - 2019. Taste California Travel. All rights reserved. | Phoenix Website Design by CitrusKiwi